Our Team


Carlos T. Carter

Carlos T. Carter

Executive Director

Carlos T. Carter, is a native Pittsburgher and the executive director of the Homeless Children’s Education Fund (HCEF). Prior to joining HCEF, he was a consultant for Holy Family Institute/Holy Family Academy and held various VP roles in the banking industry for more than 15 years. He has a passion for under-served children and families and continues to build upon the 18-year HCEF foundation. He has received many accolades, including the Pittsburgh Magazine 40 under 40 Award, National Diversity Multicultural Leadership Award, and New Pittsburgh Courier Man of Excellence Award. He received his MBA from Robert Morris University, BS in Business Administration from University of Pittsburgh and an AS from Community College of Allegheny County. He is a graduate of Leadership Pittsburgh LDI XV. In his spare time, he enjoys singing, reading, acting, working out and line dancing, and watching his sons’ sporting activities. He has three sons: Elijah, Daylon, and Isaiah and has been married to his beautiful wife Marcia for over 20 years. He is a motivational speaker and in the process of writing his first book.




Manager of Development & Events
Chris McAneny

Chris McAneny

Manager of HEN and Teen Program
Carlene Morgan

Carlene Morgan

Office Manager
Krystle Morrison

Krystle Morrison

Manager of Educational Services
Kaitlyn Nykwest

Kaitlyn Nykwest

Afterschool & Enrichment Manager
Susy Robison

Susy Robison

Director of Outreach & Volunteer Services

2017 Board of Trustees

Dr. Joseph Lagana, Founder (x202 • Email)
Joe Zewe, Chair
Bob Valasek, Past Chair
John Graf, Vice Chair
Ebony Pugh, Vice Chair
Harry Soose, Treasurer
Danielle Boston, Secretary
Kristine Autenreith
Shawn Butler
Dione Cahillane
Lillian Carpenter
Rob DeOrio
John Gallardo
Chris Kush
Jeff Martin
Rosemary Moriarty
Carlo Morgano
Carly Neals
Anne Shearon
Joe Stromei

Trustees Emeriti

Tony Accamando
Linda Dickerson, Chair Emerita
Veronica Edwards
Becky Rodgers
Jerry Wozniak

2017 Board of Advisors

Thomas Begandy
Patricia Andrews Beltz, Esq.
Joyce Bender
Dr. Ronald T. Bowes
Rebecca Cosentino
Senator Jay Costa, Jr.
Joann Cyganovich
Stacy de las Alas
Congressman Mike Doyle
Barbara Duffield
Senator Wayne Fontana
Sam Hornak
Sheldon Ingram
Brett & Sarah Keisel
Dr. Frances Lagana
Tim McKenna
Andy Paterson
Horace Payne, Jr., Esq.
David Pieton
Karen Puchalsky
Dr. Edmund Ricci
Ted Sobek
The Rev. Kris Stubna
Dr. Abraham Twerski
Randy Vulakovich
Chelsa Wagner
Judge Don Walko
Ira Weiss, Esq.
Representative Jake Wheatley

Facebooktwitterlinkedinrssyoutubemailby feather